Vandenberg AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.8 (68)
100176 0 19 0 33

User reviews

23 reviews with 5 stars

68 reviews

 
(24)
 
(25)
 
(10)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
3.8  (68)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (68)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (68)
Value 
 
3.9  (68)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (68)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
16-17 June 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Peaceful, quiet location on base. This was the first stop on a long summer tour and it set the mood for us. The site was spacious and easy to access. We ate the the dining hall (ok - not great but not bad) and used the gas station to fill up (relatively easy access even with a toad). Coming in from the Lompoc gate was a bit unsettling if you don't know the area - seems like you're driving off to nowhere... but soon enough you come to the gate and the campground isn't far ahead. Gate hours are until 1900, at least the Sunday we drove in. We'd love to stay here again for a longer time frame.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
16-17 June 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great hidden gem! Very pleasant camping with decent-sized sites, clean facilities, friendly host. We dined @ Breakers Restaurant - inexpensive if not gourmet. Relatively easy access to gasoline and other base facilities (for our 35' MH + toad). We'll be back here again!
Vandenberg AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Enjoyed this RV park. Had a back-in site and liked the layout. These sites are on a paved pad, so no grass between sites but do have grass at the back of the site with picnic tables and grill. If need grass then opt for the pull-thru sites. Base is very quiet and we liked the absence of activity. Could ride bikes around and not worry about traffic. We arrived after hours and in the dark. Came through the 13th street gate, is a distance from town and at first wondered if going correctly but eventually arrived at gate. We prefer this gate for RV. (Note: if entering via Lompoc/Santa Lucia Canyon gate expect a ½ mile steep up-hill climb from the gate.) Camp Host came over as we were getting settled in, gave us an information sheet with access codes for laundry, wi-fi, etc. Nice that he found us and we didn’t have to hunt the info down. We were in one of the end sites and a little distance from the FamCamp office/laundry room/Rec room but still had wi-fi access. Toward the end of our visit the temps warmed a bit and with sunshine things began to dry out, that is when the ants showed up. Very small black ants that found a way into the RV. Asked neighbor if they had an issue and she said they appeared a month ago in their RV, common problem for this park sounds like. Coyotes (not a problem for us) are nearby, can hear them at night and one afternoon one was just across the street from the RV park hunting for the many ground squirrels in the area. The coyote was unconcerned about our presence. The young man working the office is very pleasant and helpful, great attitude. Camp Hosts are great, they hosted an afternoon cake and beverages event, understand they hold an event once a month. Great bunch of folks. We would visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
22 Oct - 5 Nov 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice place, bathrooms are clean, very quiet base. No problems at the Lompoc gate getting in. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 14th and 15th 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a lovely surprise. Yes we were required to undergo an inspection of our rig, but nothing like previously stated. We were not required to go into an enclosed room and accompanied the airman doing the inspection (looking for hidden persons). Not sure what Vandenberg has over bases like Andrews et al. This is the 41st base (AF - not including the numerous Navy and Army installations) and only the 2nd where we were required to even open the RV. The wifi has apparently been upgraded as I'm in my RV and connected. The showers are excellent and clean with an abundance of hot water. The sites are clean and well-maintained. Lots of walking paths and the BX/Commissary complex is nearby. I wish the Exchange gas station had diesel but beggars can't be choosers. I would definitely stay here again if I were ever to venture into California again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
July 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We didn't have any scary experience with our arrival. Everything went well. Xchange and commissary nearby. Go to Wall beach. It's worth the view. You can access it on base. There is a roped area protecting a certain bird. Stay out of that area, it will be posted. Not much near the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
December 2014 - February 2015
(Updated: November 08, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Came to VAFB without a reservation and the young man in the office was able to get me into a pull thru. He was able to switch around some reservations so I wouldn't have to move during my stay, I greatly appreciated this because my wife is handicapped and the closer we are to the bathroom the better. The camp hosts Hugh and Lisa were accommodating, they lent me a 30 amp adapter when I realized all the sites were 50 amp only. I find the easiest way to review is lay out the pros and cons of a place and why I rated what I did. Location 5/5, prime spot for a campground. I believe with a but of updating and perhaps additions drive thrus you would have a real money maker here. Cleanliness/hospitality 5/5, bathrooms and lounge was clean and comfortable. The staff, especially Brandon, was quite accommodating. The young man in the office makes you feel more like a guest in his home than a customer at a campground, very welcoming and informative. Amenities/facilities 3/5, these need updating. The washers and dryers, furniture, carpets, bathrooms, showers, and sites seem outdated and in need of replacing/updating. The laundry room is desperately in need of a change machine. One thing that really hurt the score here is the roots in the pull thru sites. Value 4/5, according to the staff the prices just went up slightly. I believe that the prices are somewhat competitive but, the campground could offer more to make me feel like I got my money's worth, I recommend some sort of recreation room (ping pong, billiards, etc) and a snack bar or vending machine. Overall experience 5/5, a wonderful place if you like a quiet camp ground and welcoming staff. If this place was to be updated I would go out of my way to stay here as much as I could.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 13 4
January 2015 and March 2015
(Updated: March 24, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I would like to start this review by saying that I nearly skipped this place due to some of the reviews on this website, but boy I am glad I didn't. As a military campground this place is in a prime location, being one hour away from both SLO and Santa Barbara, the area couldn't be nicer. It is a quiet central coast campground that isn't too far away from the BX or commissary. After reading some of these reviews I would to set the record straight on the staff. The office staff is wonderful, the young man behind the desk (Braxton I think his name is) answered all my questions and if he didn't know the answer to something, he diligently searched for it. His level of customer service was outstanding, I have never felt more welcome. I never had a run in with the grounds keeper, but the bathrooms seemed to be cleaned and stocked regularly so he must be doing his job. The camp host Hugh and Lisa were the exact opposite, they seemed very unapproachable. One thing I would like to note, the camp hosts seemed to be missing a lot of the times during the night and when they were there, both of them were always drinking some form of alcohol to the point of what seemed like drunkeness, not very professional. I also had a run in with some of the gossipers in the campground, where I was bombarded with horror stories about the operating instructions and homesteaders, after looking around I could not differentiate between a home steader and a camper. The sites were nothing special, I stayed in a pull thru which had plenty of space. I think a great improvement would be to put in additional pull thru spaces and possibly fix the bathrooms. The price was not exceedingly high, I felt like I was being fairly charged for the amenities on site. As a final comment, I was given very clear instructions by one of the campers there to go to this website and "write a bad review to help change to park", I don't know why someone who stays here would want me to do this, but instead I decided I would review this place truthfully so that people don't miss out on a great campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 5
January 03-10, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived without reservations on a Saturday. Camp hosts Lisa and Hugh welcomed us and made us feel right at home. All the pull through spaces were taken but we got a back in. The back in spaces are somewhat tightly packed, but acceptable. The back in spaces are in a parking lot but there are picnic tables and plenty of grass to the rear of each space. As of January 1st, daily rate is $22 for back in, $24 for pull through. Weekly is now $143 for back in, $158 for pull through. They have about 20 dry camp spots for $10 per night. Despite being close to full the Famcamp was exceptionally quiet. Everyone we met was friendly. Vandenberg is a great place for RVers. Good, inexpensive food at the beautiful dining facility, where all are welcome. Many other places on base to eat. Nice exchange and commissary on base. The base is gigantic - nearly 100,000 acres. Nearly all of it is open space, loaded with wild animals. We saw plenty of deer and coyotes every day. Thousands of ground squirrels and birds, including hawks, vultures, herons, quail. We even saw a bobcat. We were told the base also has cougar and wild pigs, but we did not see any. The ocean views are stunning and there are numerous beaches on the base with excellent surf fishing. We saw seals and pods of whales. If you like critters this is the place for you. There is an old Coast Guard Rescue Station at Point Arguello on the base. You can obtain the keys to it at Outdoor Recreation and spend the day there. It is fabulous! Don't miss it if you camp here. We will definitely be coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
June 7, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is unusual campground. They have sites that appear to be converted parking lot with added hookups and then the pull thru sites. Laundry facilities clean. I was told that they try to assign short term stays to the pull thrus. The pull thru sites are very nice, they are old and may have tree root distortion. I found mine level. Must do, visit the on base beaches, Wall beach and minuteman beach. The electrical hookup is only 50 amp, no 120. If you are 30 amp, you will need a converter. Lompoc gate is the only gate for entrance and exit for an RV. The inspection didn't take long and was simple.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
1 April - 5 April 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very well maintained. The office staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hosts, Jon and Sue, are extremely friendly, professional, and very helpful. I extended my stay for an additional two days, and will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 16, 2013
(Updated: April 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed one night in full hooks up pull through. Full hook up spaces are 50 amp but Michelle, the host, gave me an adapter for my 30 amp at no cost. They have two internet access channels but connection sporadic. Kept losing signal so switched to my own connector. Going through the security at Lompoc Gate made me feel like a criminal. I appreciate the security aspect but when you're use to just showing your ID at Nellis AFB it was a shock especially having to sit in a closed room while they did whatever they did. A tad over the top in my opinion especially for a single older woman with a small dog. Not exactly a terrorist-like person.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
Jun 22/23, 2012
(Updated: June 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The inspection to get into the base was unreal...did not like that part at all. We did not understand why none of the cars going thru the gate did not get searched and yet they made it a point to have us open every compartment in our RV including the hoods and trunks of both vehicles. The truck traffic behind us was really piling up. The FAMCAMP was fine in the fact that we had made a reservation so our spot was pre-reserved. The check-in process just involved charging us for the 2nd night as the 1st had already been charged. It's very quiet here and easily accessible to Lompoc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 2011
(Updated: September 23, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My mother and I found the FamCamp to be a great place to stay while helping my son and his family unpack during their recent transfer to VAFB. The restrooms & showers were clean and easy to get to. The Host's were very helpful. Steve unhooked our sway bars & hooks up for us, and re-attached them when we were ready to leave, because we were clueless. The pull-thru spaces are a little tight if you have a large RV/Trailer...but we had PLENTY of room. The only thing that would have been nicer, would have been to have had cable/satellite to hook the T.V. in our trailer up to. Other than that, it was GREAT. And we got a kick out of seeing all the wild life. Coyotes, Raccoons, Herons, Skunks, etc...beautiful area. Thanks again--
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2010
(Updated: October 15, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This Famcamp is one of the best in the system. Steve the camp host and the various camp managers are all very friendly and accommodating. The only drawback we had was not at the famcamp but security at the gate. Rvs must stop for inspections. Everyone must leave the rig, open all storage areas then step inside a small building and wait for the rv to be inspected. Some people have been told to turn their backs while the inspection took place. Wasn't comfortable not being able to observe the operation. Rvs are treated the same as commercial trucks, which is odd. Once on base everything is great. Back-in sites are cramped if everyone has slides, but it's still doable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 17 to July 19, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Have been to over a dozen military campgrounds in the past three years. Have found Air Force facilities to be the best. Have visited Vandenberg Famcamp twice. Came back the second time because of our experiences the first time... and there will be more. Arrived Saturday: office closed, but host available and friendly. On Monday stopped by office to get our Famcamp Logbook stamped: was greeted with a great smile, some enjoyable banter, and helpful info. Have 2 GSDs: they loved playing fetch in the wide open fields around the Famcamp. Base facility personnel (Shoppette/BX/Gas Station) courteous and helpful. Enjoyed Wall Beach and Minuteman Beach. Wildlife (coyotes, deer, birds) a treat for critter lovers. Not having reservations a plus for us because we never know when we'll be somewhere nor for how long we'll stay. Dry camping availability if no hookup sites available a big plus in that case. VAFB is one of the best at which we've stayed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 29 to July 5, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed in the back-ins the first two days then moved to the pull thurs, much better, everything is first come, if you come in and all pull thrus are full, they offer a waiting list. The Lompoc gate is open and working well, we were the first RVers to use the new gate. We stayed in Class A motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 13-15, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First a correction on the Vandenberg Lompoc gate. The coordinates are 34.70555 -120.50232 approximately. Those coordinates will get you to the gate. However, the directions provided in the Military Campgrounds is accurate. Also, the only working phone number is (805) 606-8579. On arrival, the campground personnel were very friendly and helpful. The sites are pull through, or back in, and all have full hook-up. The back-in are all on what appears as a "parking lot." If you look at the aerial view you can see this, and the picnic tables (at all sites) are at the back of the RV in a grassy area. The pull through sites all have trees, but some have less than others. Satellite reception may be hampered as the South is off the back of the RV in the pull through. A portable dish system has no problem being located at the rear and aimed at the satellites. Eating at the Breakers Dining Facility (Mess Hall) was a great experience. The food was excellent and the price was absolutely in the inexpensive area. It was $4.60 total for us to eat. Just amazing. Except for no reservations at the CG, this is a nice place to spend some quiet time. So far it is quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 6 - 8, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
T.B. left this review using the Directory software: Off the beaten path but a wonderful location. Great hospitality, excellent, clean facilities! Well done. Full service AF Base & close to wineries & sightseeing day trips. A great experience. Be prepared for the morning fog.. Wi/Fi did not work but DSL/Dial-up in game room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 17-21, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Shelly (office lady) and the Camp Host (retired Navy Chief) were both very friendly. We enjoyed the central coast area, so the location was great for us. It is a very quiet and relaxing area far from the glitz that some may want. We were in space 13 (pull through) & could NOT get a wifi connection. We were able to try several sites for the best reception with our roof top dish, basically the same in each one, which was so,so. In the early AM when the dew was heavy we could only get 110 and as the dew dried we could get 119 (DISH network). Like others have said the over the air TV is limited, but we managed to survive! The golf course is off base a few miles down the hill back towards Santa Maria. It is pretty with rolling hills and narrow tree lined fairways. I really enjoyed it! There are 4 washers & 4 dryers, but in 2 separate buildings. The washers are only $.50 a load & the dryers are a $1.00 per cycle, but a cycle is 1 hour. We'll go back again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2